Reiki is the Universal or Spiritual (Rei) Life Force or Energy (Ki). Reiki is a simple and powerful system of energy work that anyone can learn to use for developing physical, emotional, mental, and spiritual wellness within themselves, as well as for others.

Uses of Reiki

Reiki can help alleviate suffering, whether it is of a physical, emotional, mental, or spiritual nature. This means that Reiki can heal. This statement is not a guarantee or a promise that someone will be relieved of any ailment whatsoever with a single or with multiple Reiki treatments. In most cases Reiki enhances the effects of medical treatment when used in conjunction with it. An underlying principle of Reiki is that it can do no harm and cannot be used for any harmful purpose.


Mikao Usui was the founder of the Reiki who discovered this natural system of healing at the end of a 21 day fast and meditation on a mountain in Japan. The phrase ‘Universal Life Energy’ was coined by him to describe the energy that he had contacted through years of self-preparation and dedication.

His disciple Dr. Hayashi had a medial clinic in Tokyo, and cured an American Japanese lady called Mrs. Takata of an illness through this natural form of healing. It was Mrs. Takata who brought Reiki from Japan to the West in the late 1930's. Dr. Hayashi is credited with formalising the system of hand positions and levels for use in a more clinical and health oriented practice.

Usui Shiki Ryoho, named after Mikao Usui, Is a specific form of practice that allows the student to have contact with the energy of Reiki simply by laying of hands in self treatment and treatment of others. Advanced practitioners can do treatments without physical contact.


Attuning someone to Reiki actually puts the person back in touch with their channel that they always had. This is usually done by a Reiki Master, which is done by drawing symbols over the receiver's hands, crown, heart, and into their aura.

Some people feel heat or waves of energy flowing into their body as this process happens, or even see light, images, or hear music. Most people do not have any such experiences at all, and report feeling relaxed and energised. It is also a form of cleansing and releases toxins from the body. It is recommended that you drink lots of water after an attunement.

Levels of Reiki Attunement

Reiki is most often taught in three levels- I, II and III, with III being the Master level.

In Level I people are taught basic techniques for hands-on treatment for the self and others. In Level II, one learns techniques for distance healing and receives an attunement for using specific symbols which help in mental and emotional healing, and increasing the effect of Reiki. Level III adds a spiritual or intuitive healing energy function and the ability to attune others to use Reiki themselves.

Reiki First Degree (I)

Once you have been attuned you will learn how to activate and use your Reiki. First degree Reiki is activated by intention. That is you intend or mentally command it to run. Only a slight amount of attention is needed to keep Reiki flowing. It does not involve any mental strain; just a subtle intention and willingness. You are not pushing the Reiki energy; you are allowing it to flow through you like water flows through a hose. The most important thing is to use Reiki as often as you can. The more you use it the more comfortable, confident, and skilled you will become.

Self Treatment

Reiki can be used for your own healing as well as for others. This is one thing that differentiates Reiki from many other energy healing systems. Treating yourself is an excellent way to become familiar with using Reiki. It is highly recommended that practitioners give themselves a treatment frequently. Self treatment can be done by putting your hands on your body in adaptations of the standard hand placements. The Reiki energy will go to where it is needed. You can place your hands on the front of your body with the mental intention that you are treating the back position.

Reiki Second Degree (II)

With Reiki Second Degree we are dealing with an advanced and wider area. The Reiki symbols which are introduced at this level are considered ‘sacrosanct’, meaning sacred. We ask that when you learn these symbols you do not show them to anyone else. The symbols on their own have no real power; they are special symbols and words that are used to activate a certain type of healing within Reiki. There are 3 types of symbols received: the Power symbol, the Mental/Emotional symbol, and the Distance symbol. Only after the second attunement can they be activated. These symbols cannot cause harm in any way.

Whenever a Reiki symbol is used by someone who has completed their second degree, the God consciousness or ‘Rei’ responds by changing the way the Reiki energy functions. They are like keys that open doors to higher levels of awareness. But the symbols must be used correctly. It is possible to meditate on them and receive guidance on how to use them.

Reiki Third Degree (III)

In Reiki Third Degree, the Master symbol is introduced. Use of the Master symbol creates a noticeably stronger channel between the physical and Higher self. This can be used to enhance healing or send out mass healing energy. This symbol is usually introduced when your Reiki Master feels you are ready to receive the final attunement. This is done after years of practice with the Second Degree symbols.

A Reiki Master is not suddenly a better or wiser or more enlightened person. It simply means that as a Reiki Master/ Teacher you are now able to pass on the gift of the Universal Life Force to others. Hopefully, a person seeking to become a Reiki Master is already a kind, considerate, and spiritually developed individual who is seeking to not only enhance their own life, but also the lives of others.